GitHours vs BillMyCommits

A GitHub-connected invoicing tool in beta, next to a report your client never needs an account to open.

At a glance

How hours are producedGitHours and BillMyCommits
GitHours derives hours from commit timestamps with a published, configurable gap threshold. BillMyCommits shows a per-commit hour figure against each unbilled commit; the method behind that figure is not disclosed anywhere on its marketing page.
Repository connectionGitHours and BillMyCommits
GitHours clones by URL from GitHub, GitLab, or Bitbucket, or from any other host whose clone URL ends in .git and is not on a private network — or from no host at all, via an uploaded offline git bundle. BillMyCommits requires GitHub OAuth sign-in with repository sync.
GitLab supportBillMyCommits
soon™
Account required to view a reportGitHours and BillMyCommits
GitHours: a recipient opens an expiring share link, no account needed. BillMyCommits: requires a GitHub login, with no local or offline mode.
PricingBillMyCommits
Free During Beta — $0/mo
OutputGitHours and BillMyCommits
GitHours: PDF and CSV reports plus a shareable link. BillMyCommits: PDF invoices plus in-app client management.

Facts verified 2026-07-29

What a beta-priced free tier means for recurring billing

BillMyCommits' own copy reads “Start for free during our beta period. No credit card required.”, and its published tier, “Free During Beta — $0/mo”, lists unlimited invoices, PDF export, client management, unlimited repositories and automatic commit categorization. That is a time-boxed offer, not a stated permanent free plan — no paid-tier price is published anywhere on the page. For a tool chosen to bill clients on a recurring basis, what a beta period costs once it ends is simply not yet known. BillMyCommits' footer reads “© 2026” and includes an Impressum link.

GitHub today, GitLab labeled soon™

BillMyCommits signs users in with GitHub OAuth and syncs repositories from there; on their own page, GitLab support carries the label “soon™” — planned, not yet available. GitHours does not require an OAuth connection at all: it clones a repository URL directly from GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket, or from any other host that exposes a .git-suffixed clone URL outside a private network — and an uploaded offline git bundle needs no host at all.

A disclosed method, versus a shown-but-unexplained figure

BillMyCommits' interface shows a per-commit hour figure next to each unbilled commit — values like 1.50h and 0.75h in the demo — but does not disclose anywhere on its marketing page how that figure is calculated. BillMyCommits frames this in its own tagline:

“Your Git Log Is Your Timesheet.”

GitHours publishes its gap-threshold and session-reconstruction method on its own documentation and accuracy pages, and that threshold is a setting chosen per project rather than an undisclosed constant. BillMyCommits shows a per-commit hour figure but discloses no method for it anywhere on its marketing page.